Togolese History Timeline

A timeline of key events in Togolese history covering events from the pre-colonial era to contemporary political events.


1737 – Bremen missionaries arrive on the coast. 

1874 – The British attack and defeat the Anlo Eʋe (Ewe) as part of their campaign against the Asante in 1874.

1884, July 2 –  Natchingal anchored at Little Popo 

The German gunship SMS Sophie sometime between 1882 and 1897

1884, Jan 31 – German gunship Sophie Seizes William Lawson, Gomez, and Wilson.


1884, June 23  – Provisional Agreement with Togo Chiefs. Abdodga Tabeh Alahgro and Ashigbeno Gahjokor and Tsatsha, Fetish chiefs and priests of Togo signed Agreement with Reginald Edward Firminger that they would cede the territory of Beh, extending from the frontier of Porto Seguro on the east to the British flagstaff on the West if they are unable to expel German merchants from the territory.

1885, November 30 – The police force (Polizeitruppe) is formed

1914 – British and French forces seize Togoland. 

1940, June 25 – The region remained under the control of Vichy France after the fall of France

Independence Era 

1958, April 28 – Parliamentary elections held in french Togoland 

1960, April 27 – Togo gained its independence from France

1961 – Sylvanus Olympio is elected as the first president of the Republic of Togo. 

Olympio Era 

1963,  January 13 – Sylvanus Olympio is assassinated and replaced by Nicholas Grunitzky

Gnassingbe Era

1967 – Gnassingbe Eyadema seizes power and dissolves political parties. 

1974 – The phosphate industry was nationalized in 1974 and production was carried on by the Togolese Office of Phosphates. 

1986 – Eyadema is re-elected.

1993 – Eyadema dissolves government, sparking protests and fatal clashes with police. Thousands flee to neighboring states.

2005 – President Eyadema dies, aged 69.